Color

Life in America as a minority has never been harder, especially with the new presidency implementing anti-immigration laws. As of late there has been movement to build a wall to block immigrants from reaching the U.S. Mexican border. Although many tax payers will ultimately pay for the construction of such an atrocity some Americans feel it is necessary.

With Donald Trump in office a lot of anti-immigrant, racist, and anti-Semitic believing people, becoming more vocal and attempting to implement their beliefs on the rest of the masses. Recently white terrorism has been on the rise and many minority deaths and attacks have been occurring more frequently. On my other blog post I compared the attention American Indians were receiving to that from the sixty’s, well I feel as though we are honestly travelling back in time.

Racism was supposed to be left behind in history and it’s making a resurgence. People being personally attacked and belittled for simply being nonwhite. The U.S. has become a very hostile place. One cannot help but wonder if it’s safe to even venture outside of their comfort zone in known parts.

In response to all these attacks on minorities there has been a surge in protests all over America. Simply by spreading the word and being active is making people brave enough to stand up for injustice. I myself have even found myself in a situation where I had to educate my coworker about what it truly meant to be a part of the women’s march. Naturally one would assume that a female American woman would be aware of the dangers of losing Planned Parenthood and the inequality in pay women face, but my coworker saw it as unnecessary and a thing that hippies do. Although I didn’t get her to change her mind I was able to speak out about something I truly believed in and it felt amazing to stand for something. I just truly hope that with people being able to learn more and speak out for themselves, that the good will prevail in this country, and not take four damn years.

Leave a Reply

